SOPA & PIPA have to be stopped.

I know a good portion of the regular visitors to this blog are actually not within the U.S., however the current Internet constricting bill set to be voted on by American politicians is something that will necessarily have worldwide effect, so I hope you can bear with me.

Don’t know what SOPA and PIPA are? Here’s a four minute rundown of why this would be a remarkably bad worldwide precedent to set:

http://vimeo.com/31100268

Don’t have four minutes? Here’s a great infographic that breaks it down as well:

http://americancensorship.org/infographic.html

In protest of this singularly bad attempt at corporate-driven governmental control, a Blackout has been organized for 1/18, so don’t be surprised if you go to your favourite websites and see a black screen with the simple message “Stop SOPA”, including this one.

 

2 thoughts on “SOPA & PIPA have to be stopped.

  1. Glad you weighed in on SOPA and PIPA. I signed many a petition that day and in the days leading up to the blackout. Let’s hope it stays shelved, now that public opinion was made so clear….

    • I know my blacking out ‘Til All Are Mine was the tiniest pindrop of an effort, so I was also signing the online petitions and directly contacting my representatives to let them know what I thought.

      I am glad that the world kinda joined in together on this effort. It seemed like the global effect this U.S. Bill would have had really sunk in for a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

