That’s not a cannon, THIS is a cannon. Dark of the Moon Cannon Force Ironhide!

[SPOILER ALERT! BUT SERIOUSLY, IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN DARK OF THE MOON BY NOW, YOU PROBABLY DON’T CARE ALL THAT MUCH ABOUT THE MOVIEVERSE ANYWAY. ANYWAY, SCROLL DOWN UNTIL YOU SEE “END SPOILER” IF YOU STILL HAVE PLANS TO SEE THE MOVIE.]

In Dark of the Moon, the saddest part of the movie for me wasn’t watching the wholesale destruction of my beloved home, Chicago. No, it was easily the “death” of Ironhide. Why do I put quotation marks around “death”? I’m glad you asked.

Because he’s not dead.

He’s not dead any more than Movie (2007) Jazz is. Despite Jazz’s apparent demise in the 2007 movie, the bio of his G1-inspired repaint clearly states that he was rebuilt, post movie, and therefore is alive and well (and even more stylish than ever).  Though “Cannon Force” Ironhide’s mentions nothing about his new paintjob being the result of a ressurection, we do not see any point in the three movies or the subsequent comics that show that Ironhide ever donned a red paintjob. In my opinion this points to this new paintjob being post Dark of the Moon. Perhaps his new colour is a bi-product of his entire body having been consumed by the cosmic rust when he was shot by Sentinel Prime? I like to think that the Autobots that were present after the attack were able to salvage Ironhide’s spark chamber, and that is what kept him from going offline.

"Hey, it works for me."

[END SPOILERS.]

This is a toy I have personally been asking Hasbro to make for four years now. Literally asking. Every Botcon I have been to since the release of the 2007 movie, I have asked in the Hasbro design panel,

“When are we going to get a red deluxe or voyager movie Ironhide?”

It was last year that I once again asked the question and this time received a different answer,

“Ummm, no comment.”

Previously it had been, “We don’t have any plans for that just yet”, so I was not very surprised when shortly thereafter, “Cannon Force” Ironhide was announced.

Just like when Hasbro did me a favour and made Scan Series Ironhide from the Deluxe mold I never bought, they then made this guy out of the Dark of the Moon Voyager mold that I didn’t pick up (in favour of the far more awesome Leader class Ironhide toy.) He’s MechTech, so of course he comes with a ridiculously large, button activated weapon.

Putting the "Cannon" in "Cannon Force".

The red is perfectly placed on this guy, wonderfully homaging G1 Ironhide, down to the stripe up the side of his alt mode.

Though along with toning down the bright yellow stripe in favour of a nice, subtle orange, they also cut the overall red by painting the lower half of his alt in black.

I am a little ticked that they didn’t just take the red all the way down, but the black does fit the personality of Movieverse Ironhide more, so I guess it’s ok. Of course, his MechTech weapon can be mounted on his alt mode and, of course, it looks positively ridiculous.

There’s definitely not going to be a comparison shot between Ironhide’s G1 robot mode and this homage, seeing as the homage bears a far greater resemblance to G1 Ironhide’s actual robot mode than the original G1 toy.

3 thoughts on “That’s not a cannon, THIS is a cannon. Dark of the Moon Cannon Force Ironhide!

  1. Pingback: ‘Til All Are Displayed! The Collection… well most of it. « 'Til All Are Mine

  2. Pingback: I know how I should feel about this toy; I’m glad that I don’t. Dark of the Moon Que (certainly not Wheeljack) « 'Til All Are Mine

  3. Pingback: Bot Shots: Ironhide | So Okay It's Average

Leave a Reply

