Showing that alt modes don’t always have to make any sense to be awesome. Energon Scorponok! Timelines Double Punch!

After two posts from Cybertron and now this guy, you might be able to guess that I have reached the A-E-C portion of the packing of the toys. For anyone not familiar with the “Unicron Trilogy”, Armada, Energon, and Cybertron or A-E-C for short were three back-to-back Transformers cartoons and toylines meant to be one continuity. Whereas Energon is a straightforward sequel to Armada, the connection between those two and Cybertron is tenuous at best (if not just an outright fabrication by Hasbro). All that aside, Energon is easily the weakest of the toylines of the three. In fact, I don’t own a good portion of it. I might have been more able to forgive the glaring mistakes of the toyline if the cartoon dub hadn’t been even worse than the already poor Armada. At the time, I didn’t have easy access to the Japanese version, called Super Link due to the combining gimmick of the series. Maybe watching Super Link would have made it somewhat better or, like with Galaxy Force versus Cybertron, actually downright enjoyable. I found copies of the Japanese releases of both Armada and Energon and maybe after enough years have gone by, I’ll attempt to watch them. Granted, the urge hasn’t hit yet and it’s been ten years since Armada first aired.

Enough ranting, let’s get to the toy.

My initial reaction to Energon Scorponok was, in order:

  1. What the ever-lovin’ heck is that supposed to be?
  2. Space Scorpion Construction Vehicle Assault Tank. Huh.
  3. I think I love it.

I am relatively sure I shouldn’t actually like him, but I do. There’s nothing at all that makes sense about his alt mode, but that’s never stopped me from totally liking a Transformer before. Then, of course, there’s the fact that he is a triple-changer, with a space ship alt mode as well.

His imposing robot mode, the mode that really sold me on this toy, is chunky but still manages to have some pretty decent articulation.

The Botcon-folks would use this mold in 2010 as part of the G2: Redux line to do one of my favourite repaint/remold tricks: provide a transforming update to an Action Master. As with all the Action Master Elites, G1 Double Punch was never released in the U.S. Also, as part of that European-exclusive Generation 1 toyline, Double Punch had some wonderfully obnoxious colours, faithfully recreated in his Botcon release.

Though Scorponok received a slight remolding to be released in the Cybertron line, Double Punch uses the original version of the mold.

Complete with awesome-ly nonsensical alt mode. To this day, I don’t know what they were thinking when they designed it, but I like it.

The original really can’t even come close to Double Punch’s application of the mold. Even the G1 Scorponok homaging head mold is made better in Double Punch’s colour scheme.

Double Punch is clearly the toy this mold was always meant to be.

5 thoughts on “Showing that alt modes don’t always have to make any sense to be awesome. Energon Scorponok! Timelines Double Punch!

  1. This is one of 2 Energon molds I kept during my purge last year. For reasons I can’t quite explain I too love this mold. I flipped when I heard Botcon was using the mold as Double Punch and I couldn’t agree w/ you more.

    I skipped the Dark Scorponok release, but if the rumors are true about a 3rd party add-on kit to make him Black Zarak I may be kicking myself for not buying him on clearance when I had the chance!

  2. Absolutely Gorgeous repaint and homage. Kind of glad I waited until its use for Botcon — had no idea about the 3rd mode. Convincing enough starship. Dunno how I could’ve missed it as, looking again now, it had of course been all over the internet. Thanks for the heads-up anyway!

  3. Pingback: The triumphant return of the leader that never was. Beast Machines Primal Prime! « 'Til All Are Mine

  4. Pingback: Clench and Sir Pyro Ignatius Spark! | 'Til All Are Mine

  5. Pingback: Double your robots, triple your fun! | 'Til All Are Mine

Leave a Reply

