BotCon 2013 Part 2: The Cosplay

Somehow I forgot about including a post about the BotCon 2013 panels. This works out, though, because that will replace “The Transformers Ride at Universal Studios” as part 3. The Ride is getting bumped to next week’s post which will include the star of that particular show, Evac.

Sooo, the new version for this week is:

  • BotCon 2013 Part 1: The Customs and Contest entries
  • BotCon 2013 Part 2: The Cosplay
  • BotCon 2013 Part 3: The Panels
  • BotCon 2013 Part 4: The Toys

Then next week:

  • Transformers: The Ride 3-D at Universal Studios and Evac!

On to the Cosplay!

I know there’s a lot of back-and-forth regarding cosplay in general, but for the most part I like it. With an increase in complexity of outfits, we’ve seen more and more Transformers come to life and I like to see the efforts people go to dressing up like their favourite characters. Sometimes hilarity ensues (see the dude dressed as Miko or the seriously gigantic hammer on Lady Breakdown later in this post). Sometimes I am just in awe of the imagination and talents of the creators of these outfits.

First Cosplay I came across was this great Dr. Arkeville. Good accessories, but needs poofier hair! Maybe this is a young Dr.

First Cosplay I came across was this great Dr. Arkeville. Good accessories, but needs even poofier hair! Maybe this is a younger Doctor before he really had a chance to grow into “REALLY Evil Scientist” hair.

The next couple of costumes were G.I.Joe inspired...

The next couple of costumes were G.I.Joe inspired…

...including two of my favourite members of Cobra, the Crimson Twins.

…including two of my favourite members of Cobra, the Crimson Twins.

Double takes were the order of the day for this guy, or Miko-dude as we took to calling him.

Double takes were the order of the day for this guy, or Miko-dude as we took to calling him.

Later in the dealer room, I saw the girl version as well. Fanboys are fanboys, so there is a contingent of hatred out there for Miko Nakadai. I personally like her character a lot (especially after "Chain of Command".)

Later in the dealer room, I saw the girl version as well. Fanboys are fanboys, so there is a contingent of hatred out there for Miko Nakadai. I personally like her character a lot (especially after “Chain of Command”.)

This scene was mostly just confusing for me.

This scene was mostly just confusing for me.

The Prime Soundwave outfit was one of the best costumes of the show.

The Prime Soundwave outfit was one of the best costumes of the show.

"Human version of" is my least favourite Transformers cosplay concept, but this Lady Breakdown and her gigantic hammer was pretty awesome.

“Human version of” is my least favourite Transformers cosplay concept, but this Lady Breakdown and her gigantic hammer was pretty awesome.

The 'bot version of Breakdown was very well done.

The ‘bot version of Breakdown was also very well done.

Cliffjumper's looking pretty snarky for a dead guy.

Cliffjumper’s looking pretty snarky for a dead guy.

Fresh off his induction into the Hall of Fame, Beast Wars Megatron has more reason for the snarky grin.

Fresh off his induction into the Hall of Fame, Beast Wars Megatron has more reason for the snarky grin.

 

The movie 'bots were representing as well.

The movie ‘bots were representing as well.

The intricacies of these outfits just blew me away.

The intricacies of these outfits just blew me away.

The slightly Chibi proportions of my favourite movie 'bot, Sideswipe, made me want to give him a hug.

The slightly Chibi proportions of my favourite movie ‘bot, Sideswipe, made me want to give him a hug.

Bonus points for spotting the Cliffjumper photobomb.

Bonus points for spotting the Cliffjumper photobomb.

Drift was a bit bulky for a super-stabby swordsman.

Drift was a bit bulky for a super-stabby swordsman.

My two favourite costumes of the entire convention were this creepy, skeletal-faced IDW Cyclonus...

My two favourite costumes of the entire convention were this creepy, skeletal-faced IDW Cyclonus…

...and this awesome rendition of G1 Soundwave.

…and this awesome rendition of G1 Soundwave.

'Til All Are Mine.

Leave a Reply

