A ‘bot without a universe to call his own. Universe Chevy Aveo Swerve!

Swerve Universe Logo

There’s a certain level of irony to that logo. As a promotional exclusive released in a bag with only his instructions sheet and a protective clear plastic shell, Swerve has no proper placement in any fiction;

Very stark.

Very stark.

In other words, despite being part of the Universe toyline, he has no universe.

Judged by his aesthetic alone, he clearly belongs in the movie-verse but there’s already a red car named Swerve in that universe. Luckily for me, I consider RotF Swerve to be a far better G1 Sideswipe homage than a Swerve homage. This means my grand, well-thought out, and very adult response is to stick my fingers in my ears, say “Lalalala, I can’t hear you” and call this guy my movie-verse Swerve.

Swerve Universe Robot

Trust me, I never really thought I would ever have this particular conundrum in my collection. Primarily this is because I never really thought I would ever have this particular Swerve in my collection.

Swerve Universe Robot Pose

Chevy Aveo Swerve is possibly the most puzzling Transformers toy release ever. Created on commission for Chevrolet and not licensed to Hasbro directly, this means Hasbro would have to negotiate for the license from Chevy’s to use the mold. This makes Swerve the first full-blown Transformer mold to be created for exclusive use.

In 2007 samples started showing up in both all red and all yellow versions in China with rumors of him some sort of Chinese exclusive. The truth was that he was supposedly first intended to be used in a European promotion for those that test drove a Chevy Aveo. No one knows when or if this ever actually happened. In 2008, he then showed up for a very short time on Chevy’s European website itself and quickly sold out, even though he went for exorbitant amounts thanks to processing and shipping fees. His next appearance would be in 2009 as an incentive given away for free to fill out entry forms in several malls for a Canadian promotion with the grand prize of a 2010 Camaro. The next year some stock was funneled to online store BigBadToyStore, selling for $75 a piece; still too pricey for me. He continued to pop up sporadically, usually commanding the same $75 to $100 price tag. Even when he showed up at $50 on BBTS, I still couldn’t justify it. It was some point last month while perusing the Allspark forums that someone mentioned they had seen him on BBTS again, clearance priced at $30. That was apparently the magic price for me and I already had some stuff waiting in my Pile of Loot.

Swerve Universe Robot Posed

There’s something about this guy’s stocky look that I really dig. He really well articulated making him a lot of fun to photograph. He doesn’t come with any weapons and his hands are not really sized well to hold any of the 5mm posts. The way his thumb is molded, I’m in no mood to try to force it.

Swerve Universe Hand

His headsculpt is awesome, I also really like the dark red Autobot symbol on his chest/car hood.

Swerve Universe Head

Although I have to say that, with the exception of maybe the very top part,  I still don’t think his head resembles an Autobot symbol. I’ve even seen the images where people try to overlay the symbol on his face, but I still don’t buy it.

In a remarkably unsurprising turn of events, Chevy Aveo Swerve transforms into a Chevy Aveo.

Swerve Universe Alt

Not the sexiest alt mode every but transformation is another thing I really like about this mold. He transforms with enough complexity while still being a lot of fun, panels all folding in nice and tight.

Swerve Universe Alt Angle

Between his transformation, his detailing, and his articulation this guy has jumped into one of my top ten all-time favourite ‘bots. All of that with no bio or fictional representation of any kind.

This year has been a good one for getting ‘bots I never thought I’d own; from Fortress Maximus to Universal Studios Evac and now Chevy Aveo Swerve. Not a single one has disappointed.

Swerve Universe with Evac

'Til All Are Mine.

One thought on “A ‘bot without a universe to call his own. Universe Chevy Aveo Swerve!

Leave a Reply

